Simple Orange Cake that is Gluten and Dairy Free

image

My cousin in the foreground, while 'Nanna' and our Little One, lick the icing bowl in the background.

Today will be a sad day.  Today I will be driving my cousin to Sydney airport so she can fly home to Brisbane (my Mum will stay for another couple of weeks).

As a fitting farewell to my beautiful counsin (more like my little sister), I wanted to share her yummy orange cake that she made for us (with her permission of course).

Simple Orange Cake
(Gluten and dairy free)

1 & 1/2 cups self raising, gluten free flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
125 g of dairy free butter (I use Nuttelex)
2/3 cup caster sugar
2 free range eggs
Vanilla
1/4 cup rice milk
Grated rind of 1 orange
1 tablespoon of orange juice

* Preheat oven to 180 degrees C.
* Sift flour and baking powder in a large bowl.
* Throw all ingredients into the bowl and beat with an electric mixer.
* Pour into a well greased 20 cm round tin.
* Bake for 30 minutes.
* Allow to cool.  Icing is optional.
* Enjoy with loved ones.

Bye bye Mellie, see you soon.  xox

2 thoughts on “Simple Orange Cake that is Gluten and Dairy Free

Leave a Reply

