Reduce Fruit Food Waste – Simple Cake Recipe

Do you have mushy bananas in your fridge which you’re thinking “I should throw those out”?  What about peaches that are squishy?  Strawberries that aren’t looking their perky selves?

Don’t throw them out! 

If you chuck them, you are wasting numerous resources: money (if purchased), time it took to go to the supermarket and the opportunity to make something really yummy.

I have an easy receipe to turn your mushy (but still edible) fruit into a cake – either gluten or gluten free.

image

It is my basic banana bread / cake recipe.  You can switch the bananas for whatever mushy fruit you have.  I have made it with strawberries, peaches, apricots and pears all successfully.

70g Nutterlex (dairy free butter)
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg beaten
3 mushy bananas (or other equivalent fruit)
1.5 cups gluten free self raising flour (use gluten SR flour if not intolerant)
1 cup sultanas (optonial)
2 tablespoons of rice milk

* Preheat oven to 180 degrees C
* Grease and lightly flour a 22cm×12cm loaf tin (I prefer not to use baking paper for environmental / waste reasons)
* Cream dairy free butter and sugar together.  Add beaten egg then slowly add fruit while mixing.
* Sift flour into the mixture.  Stir
* Add sultanas and milk.  Stir
*  Pour into loaf tin and bake for 45 minutes.

Enjoy 🙂

9 thoughts on “Reduce Fruit Food Waste – Simple Cake Recipe

  1. Pingback: Reduce Fruit Waste – A Simple Muffin Receipe | Greener Me

  2. As a woman with coeliac disease and just starting out in my quest to build a greener lifestyle for myself, I am loving that all your recipes are gluten free and that you offer solutions to upcoming/recycling that many of us have pondered without knowing how to research!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello and Welcome!!! I am thrilled that you are finding my blog and posts helpful on your journey to become greener (it is the reason I write). I have been gluten intolerant since I was a teenager (a long long long time). All my recipes here are gluten free so I am glad you will find them helpful too. I appreciate your comment and encouragement. 🙂

      Like

  3. For years I have thrown my soft bananas in the freezer to use at a later date for banana muffins or cake. Never thought of substituting other ‘soft’ fruit in the muffins or cake. So annoying to throw them out or even put them in the compost. Good idea. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    • We recently bought a dehydrator and have made dried mango, dried strawberries and fruit leather which included a few things including passionfruit. Great and easy way of preserving soft summer fruit.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Fruit leather? I have never heard of that expression Sabena. How long does it take to dehydrate the fruit? Thankyou for sharing! I might look into doing the same. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

