Planting Seeds Like the Native Americans

At the beginning of October, I planted corn and pumpkin close together, in one section of our garden.

Corn stalks soon to be growing next to pumpkins and beans

As you can see, the corn has sprouted (so has the pumpkin but they can’t be seen in the photo).

Today looking at the corn sprouts, I remembered an article that I read some time ago.

Apparently the Native Americans, always planted corn, beans and squash together.   The corn stalks became ‘stakes’ for the beans to climb.   The beans produced nitrogen needed by the corn and squash (and helped stabalised the corn from winds). The squash’s (or in my case, pumpkins) large leaves acted as a mulch, suppressing weeds.

So today while looking at the corn sprouts,  I decided to plant two bean seeds close to each sprout.

Let’s see what happens with my corn, beans and pumpkin combination…..

Corn, pumpkin and beans planted together - inspired by the Native Americans

3 thoughts on “Planting Seeds Like the Native Americans

  1. Pingback: Native American Food Planting Technique Update | Greener Me

  2. This is a great idea. You’re creating the beginnings of a food forest! If I were a betting man, I’d let the corn get at least 2 feet before planting the beans. I’ve tried similar companion plantings and the beans grew much faster than the corn and simply enveloped it. I’d love to see progress photos!

    yours,
    James
    http://www.mindyourdirt.com

    Like

    • James I bet you are correct. I did have the thought that it was good that the corn was planted first – allowed to sprout before planting the beans. Next time I will allow even more time for the corn to grow. Cheers James 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

