A positive outcome from Kraft’s boxing kangaroo

Thank you to all my readers who left comments and information in regards to my last post about the boxing kangaroo in a match with a human. There was a lot of discussion and one of my last comments, I stated that I would write an email to Kraft.  Below is that email which I sent only 10mins ago.  The email was sent to Simon Talbot who is the Head of Corporate Affairs and to Michael Magee who is the Director of Marketing for Australia and New Zealand.


Email subject – ‘A positive outcome from boxing kangaroo’

To Simon Talbot & Michael Magee,

My name is Sarhn McArthur and I live in Sydney, Australia.

As you may be aware there has been much media attention given to the recent ‘Rocky Circus Show’ which was apart of the Kraft sponsored BorderFest festival in Texas.  This attention as I am sure you are also aware, is because of Australia’s strong reaction to the treatment given of the Kangaroo in the show.

Firstly, I would like to say that I have personally read Kraft’s media released statement “We understand the BorderFest Association, which organises this annual cultural celebration, has apologised for offending anyone, particularly the people of Australia, with the kangaroo boxing display”.

Secondly, I would like to bring to your attention my local Australian blog GreenerMe.  On the 6th of March (Australian time) after watching the footage on a TV broadcast, I sat down at my computer and wrote a post about my disgust on the treatment of this Kangaroo and my annoyance that Kraft was sponsoring this event.

I would like to invite you to read this actual post and also my reader’s comments. https://greenerme.wordpress.com/2010/03/06/kraft-who-was-the-marketing-fool-behind-the-boxing-kangaroo-stunt/

Thirdly I would like to express again to you, one of my own comments on the post. “Kraft’s response was expected – nothing earth shattering exciting or proactive. Perhaps if AHA is not able to help exotic Australian animals who are in the USA maybe Kraft could put some money towards organisations who do help exotic animals being harmed in the US. Come on Kraft… you have an opportunity to do something wonderful out of something bad. Be a shinning beacon in the corporate world. Don’t simply wipe your hands and say ‘we are really not to blame’ but say ‘even though we are not to blame we want to help’.

This is just my view but I have to be honest, currently I view your brand (Kraft) as ‘takers’. You took Vegemite from Australia (yes I know you purchased it but I doubt you will find many Australians who are happy about the deal). Now change our view and show us you are givers! Show Australia you do care about your market. I challenge Kraft to do something positive, something wonderful, something out of the corporate ordinary world.

Come on Kraft I dare you!”

 
In finishing I would like Kraft to take the challenge seriously.
I believe Kraft has a wonderful opportunity to turn a nightmare of a sponsorship deal into something positive and productive.

It appears to me, from reading my reader’s comments that there are currently organisations who are working towards protecting cruelly treat kangaroos in the USA.  I believe these types of organisations would welcome and be grateful for any corporate sponsorship or donations that Kraft would like to offer.

I challenge Kraft to think outside the box, be creative and to seize the opportunity to show their Australian market that they do care about Australia.

Thank you for taking the time to read my email and I will look forward to your reply.

Yours faithfully,

Sarhn McArthur

 


Sarhn McArthur Photography
PO Box 355
Seaforth NSW 2092
AUSTRALIA


 


4 thoughts on “A positive outcome from Kraft’s boxing kangaroo

  1. Pingback: Power of Belief « Greener Me

  2. Hey Nevyn,

    I guess we will wait and see if we get a reply from Kraft.

    Have you heard the audio from the footage? The audience are all families with kids. I have thought the exact thing – why was anyone watching? Why is there a market for a Rocky Circus Show?

    Thanks Nevyn for your support

    Like

  3. Hi Sarhn,

    Well done to both you and Judi and everyone else who commented. I hope that something good comes out of this.

    I still find it hard to believe that some people’s definition of ‘honouring all things Australian’ is to treat a magnificient animal so cruelly. Nor is it ‘honouring’ to treat a national icon and emblem with such disrespect.

    There is anther thing about this whole event that has been bothering me. What about the audience? Are they not as guilty for participating? I wonder what they think of it all. Do they leave the show angry and disgusted or do they leave feeling that they have been well entertained. If the latter is the case then shows like this will continue. It is a sad fact that shows like this exist because there is a market for it.

    Those who attend such venues should be as ashamed as those who sponsor them.

    Again, well done Sarhn and Judi for your efforts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

