Sydney’s Live Green House

Sydney City of Council has created what sounds like to be a  ‘Live Green House’.  From what I understand this house will be on display at Taylor Square North in Darlinghurst from the 15-18 of October. 

“Wander through this transportable interactive urban home and discover sustainable solutions for both house and apartment living. The Live Green House was designed by Terry Bail from Archology, a firm set up to concentrate on projects with an emphasis on sustainability. With practical information and ideas from experts covering topics such as energy, water, waste, rebates and gardening, you’ll be inspired. There’s also a bicycle showcase and a focus on sustainable transport, as well as demonstrations and displays of the latest work from sustainable designers. Be part of City of Sydney’s Sustainable Sydney 2030 Vision for a green, global, connected City and join us in shaping an exciting and sustainable future.”

Even though I am flat out with work at the moment, I am planning on checking out the home on Thursday.  I hoping to find ideas on how we can improve on our electricity usage and also understand more about electricty solar panels which I would like to have installed early in the new year.

Here is the Full Program:

 


Thursday 15 Oct (12pm – 8pm)
Time Speakers Answering Your Questions on – 
12pm – 2pm Live Green Ambassadors, City of Sydney Staff Sustainability & the Live Green House
12pm – 8pm Penny Spankie Arqua Water Station from Street Furniture Australia
12pm – 4pm Ford ECOnetic Showcasing the new Fiesta ECOnetic fuel efficient, environmentally advanced vehicle
2pm – 6pm Megan Bennett & Mithra Cox, The Watershed Worm farming, composting & recycling
2pm – 6pm Michael Neville, City of Sydney Worm farming, composting & recycling
3pm – 8pm Terry Bail & Martin Urakawa, Archology Live Green House architects
4pm – 6pm Live Green Ambassadors, City of Sydney Staff Sustainability & the Live Green House
4pm – 8pm Steve Bately, Sydney Organic Gardens Gardens on your balcony
4pm – 8pm Annie Walker, City of Sydney Community gardens in Sydney
4pm – 8pm Mel Cook, City of Sydney Programs & rebates available to help residents
4pm – 8pm Reverse Garbage Container Gallery Reusable materials to create sustainable art & design
4pm – 8pm Solahart Solar hot water products
6pm – 8pm MobileMuster Recycle your old mobile phones & discover where they go

Friday 16 Oct (12pm – 8pm)
Time Speakers Answering Your Questions on – 
12pm – 2pm Live Green Ambassadors, City of Sydney Staff Sustainability & the Live Green House
12pm – 8pm Penny Spankie Arqua Water Station from Street Furniture Australia
12pm – 4pm Ford ECOnetic Showcasing the new Fiesta ECOnetic fuel efficient, environmentally advanced vehicle
12pm – 4pm Kirsten Woodward, City of Sydney Greening the City of Sydney
2pm – 4pm Paul Myors, Energy Australia Ways to save on your energy
2pm – 6pm Tankworks Australia Water tank products
2pm – 6pm Kath McLaughlin, City of Sydney Worm farming, composting & recycling
3pm – 8pm Terry Bail & Martin Urakawa, Archology Live Green House architects
4pm – 6pm Live Green Ambassadors, City of Sydney Staff Sustainability & the Live Green House
4pm – 8pm Nik Midlam, City of Sydney City’s greenhouse reduction programs
4pm – 8pm Sable & Argent Green technology for bicycles
5pm – 8pm Helen Mok, Designer Kinetic jewellery from found objects
5pm – 8pm Danpalon Polycarbonate roofing
6pm – 8pm Junglefy Green Roofs

Saturday 17 Oct (10am – 6pm)
Time   Answering Your Questions on –
10am – 12pm Live Green Ambassadors, City of Sydney Staff Sustainability & the Live Green House
10pm – 6pm Penny Spankie Arqua Water Station from Street Furniture Australia
10am – 2pm Kath McLaughlin, City of Sydney Zero Waste
10am – 2pm Mel Cook, City of Sydney Programs & rebates available to help residents
10am – 2pm Fiona Campbell, City of Sydney City of Sydney & cycling
12pm – 3pm Lisa Gasparotto, Designer Sustainable lighting design
12pm – 3pm Matt Chan, Scale Architecture  Laneways By George! – Infinity Forest
12pm – 3pm Solar Shop Understanding solar products
12pm – 4pm Ford ECOnetic Showcasing the new Fiesta ECOnetic fuel efficient, environmentally advanced vehicle
12pm – 4pm UTS – Institute for Sustainable Futures SWITCH electric vehicle
12pm – 1pm  Katie Patrick, Managing Director, Green Pages Get your copy of Green Pages
12pm – 5pm Terry Bail & Martin Urakawa, Archology Live Green House architects
2pm – 4pm Live Green Ambassadors, City of Sydney Staff Sustainability & the Live Green House
2pm – 6pm Jemma Wong, City of Sydney Zero Waste program
2pm – 6pm Bhakti Devi, City of Sydney Water and plans for the future
2pm – 6pm Sable & Argent Green technology for bicycles
4pm – 6pm Junglefy Vertical Gardens
3pm – 6pm Arthur Koutoulas, Designer Furniture with recycled materials

Sunday 18 Oct (10am – 6pm)
Time   Answering Your Questions on –
10am – 12pm Live Green Ambassadors, City of Sydney Staff Sustainability & the Live Green House
10pm – 6pm Penny Spankie Arqua Water Station from Street Furniture Australia
12pm – 3pm Trent Jansen, Designer Sign Stool 450 design
12pm – 3pm Eric Ng, Designer Graphic design with a sustainable focus
12pm – 3pm Greenrooms Landscape Design
12pm – 4pm Ford ECOnetic Showcasing the new Fiesta ECOnetic fuel efficient, environmentally advanced vehicle
1pm – 6pm Terry Bail & Martin Urakawa, Archology Live Green House architects
2pm – 4pm Live Green Ambassadors, City of Sydney Staff Sustainability & the Live Green House
2pm – 6pm Jemma Wong, City of Sydney Zero Waste program
3pm – 6pm Julie Paterson, Cloth Fabric Real material for the home
3pm – 6pm Nicholas Karlovasitis, Design by Them Designer working with sustainable materials

11 thoughts on “Sydney’s Live Green House

  1. Hi Sarhn,
    I was flicking through your blogs and found this one. It wasn’t until I was reading the comments that I realised it was ages ago. I would have been interested to go. LOL
    However, now I’ll need to find Gav and Nevyn’s posts as we have a solar water heater – because new homes had to have one and ours was a ‘project home’ (not sure what that is called elsewhere – we pick a plan, they build it). The silly thing has an electric back-up without off peak power, so costs as much as straight electric hot water. Didn’t save the world or us! We could get off-peak by installing a different meter at our expense, but probably not worth it.
    PS I have drastically reduced our waste, especially since I got the worms and Bokashi happening. I haven’t even tried to reduce seriously, but there are few things that go in green waste, recycle or main rubbish bin now. I use scraps, lawn clippings, paper, cardboard, jars, plastic bottles, bags and containers even the occasional tin can – in the garden.
    Thanks everyone.
    Always learning
    Kerri

    Like

  2. Hi,

    It’s me again. I tried that feed thingy on my blog. I must have done something wrong because nothing happened. Which from my point of view may be a good thing because I didn’t fancy getting emails from my own blog and then not been able to work out how to unsuscribe. Back to the drawing board. Of course, if I keep maikng the same mistake, there’s not much point heading back to the drawing board. sometimes been commuter illerate can be a bit of a pain 😦

    Like

  3. He eats sultanas, apricots, peanuts, beans, pumpkin, pretty much anything he sees us eat and dead things from time to time. He would also like to eat the Psychotic Rooster but the bird is still alive and The Feral is too scared to get close enough to chomp on it. Not that I blame him.

    Like

  4. We keep getting credits and then at the end of the year ( I think ) we get paid that money in cash. This is our first year, so I don’t know exactly when this happens or how the money is transferred, it gets done once a year.

    Each State is different. I don’t know how long our State Government is going to pay out cash but I’ll happily take it while I can.

    The Feral smells much better, Thank you. He wasn’t impressed when he had he mouth washed out with bi-carb. He snarled at me. It didn’t do him any good, I just snarled right back, that pput him in his place. His breath was ripe! That was one very, very stinky dog! He forgave me after I gave him a couple of sultanas.

    Like

  5. Hi Sarhn,

    When you work out how to dodge all that plastic wrapping please, please tell me how.

    We got $123 credit on our last electricity bill, it might have been more. I keep meaning to post about it but I forget. I’m a bit short on the technical side of solar panels. All I know is that we have solar panels on our roof and the electricity company pays us instead of us paying them.

    I better go, I have a stinky, smelly dog who rolled in something very dead and he needs a bath. The Feral thinks he smells beautiful and can’t work out why I won’t let him in the house. Very stinky!

    Like

  6. Hi Nevyn,

    I feel I am going to let you down today. I am heading to Brisbane today and at this stage it isn’t looking good that I will be able to swing by the Live Green Home before heading off. 😦 😦 😦

    Zero Waste program was one of the first things I worked on in our own home. Some weeks I don’t put our rubbish bin out now. My goal is to never have to put the rubbish bin out again but I am not there yet (sill a long way till I can say that).

    I am going to spend some time reading your posts and Gav’s posts on your electricity panels. This is my next big project and I am starting to reasearch all about it now. This was my biggest reason for wanting to go to the Live Green Home.

    Like

  7. Hi Sarhn,

    Sounds good. All that info under the one roof. There should be more of it. I’ll be interested to hear what you think about it.

    The Zero Waste program sounds intresting. I would really love to hear how in this society you can have Zero Waste.

    Like

Leave a Reply

