Finding Balance on Ones Green Journey

Years ago I remember sharing with a friend that you can always tell how busy I am with work, by viewing the condition of my garden pot plants.  In my free time, I love to ‘pot around’ in the garden but if I am too busy this enjoyment is neglected.  Finding the balance between work and down time is a constant challenge that I have always needed to regularly review.

 

After reading my very first post titled ‘A Sneaking Suspicion’, you will realise that my busy work commitment was the biggest obstacle in achieving my desire to live a greener, sustainable life.  Ironically making the conscious decision two years ago to officially start my journey towards a greener existence, has not added extra burden on my life and routine.  If anything I am finding more peace and contentment.

 

However I am aware that the ‘green journey’ needs to be balanced too.  I have recently wondered if my cyber blooger friends have ever experienced personal pressure on their green journey.  I say ‘personal’ pressure because I am talking about what we individually create from our own expectations and goals, which at times may cause the feeling of being over whelmed or even guilt.

 

There was a simple yet inspiring post by the blogger ‘No Impact Man’ titled ‘I don’t want to burn myself out’.  He was quoting Anne from ‘Not So Big Blog’ when he wrote “Be as I am – a reluctant enthusiast, a part time crusader, a half hearted fanatic.  Save the other half for yourself and for your lives and for pleasure and adventure.  It is not enough to fight for the land; it is even more important to enjoy it…..While we can……While it is still here”.

 

The green journey needs to be balanced.  Enjoy the peace and contentment you can receive in the journey to live a sustainable life and don’t allow negative emotions like being overwhelmed poison your journey or life.

 

Remember living a greener life is a journey i.e. it takes time and there is a lot to learn about ourselves along the way.

 

If for example, you are like me and only write one post on your blog per week, don’t beat yourself up and feel guilty but smile and enjoy it.

 

 


Bookmark and Share

3 thoughts on “Finding Balance on Ones Green Journey

  1. Pingback: Done with Winter, Ready for Summer! « Greener Me

  2. Hi Sarhn,

    Can I be like you when I grow up, calm, mellow, knowing where you’re heading and what you’re doing. That’s what I like about your blog, you put things into perspective.

    Like

Leave a Reply

