A Green Psychology – our inner voice

Wonder how many people live with the inner belief that they individually can not improve humanity’s impact on the environment?

 

In fact I find the inner script or conversation we have with ourselves on a daily bases really interesting.  Just take the time to be aware of what is being said in your head.

 

One such conversation I wasn’t at the time aware of but later shocked by its realisation, occurred in Thailand on the first night staying in Bangkok.  You know the routine when you are first shown your hotel room.  As soon as the porter has left the room, you start browsing your new environment by venturing into the bathroom to check the tiny free bottles of toiletries.

 

In finding little bottles of moisturisers, I excitedly opened one of the bottles then poured the sweet smelling liquid onto my hands.  “MMmmm Yay” I thought “these tiny little bottles are great for the plane trip home”.

 

While rubbing the moisturiser onto my skin, I gazed upon the empty container.  It then dawned on me that my less then five minute action could not be recycled.

 

Why was the ‘green’ environmental agenda only my second thought?  Though a second thought is better than no thought at all (I did stop using the little orange bottles after my realisation).  I believe if I am to live a greener existence, then I need to understand how to increase my ‘green’ awareness thinking to first place thoughts.

 

Just a suggestion:

 

Step 1 Start by being aware on your own inner conversation.  When it comes to buying or using a product or service, stop and focus on your thinking.

 

Step 2 Identify one area you wish to improve upon (it is hard to change every aspect of your lifestyle over night).

 

Step 3  Place practical personal systems in place to remind you to be aware of your thinking on the ‘green’ agenda.  For example you could write a note on your cheque book, which jogs your memory about the ‘green’ agenda before writing each cheque.

 

Step 4  Allow the feeling of contentedness, happiness and well being to fill you each and every time you successfully place the ‘green’ agenda in your first place thoughts. 

 

Step 5  Be prepared to be shocked and challenged by what you will learn about yourself, once you start the process of being aware of your own personal thoughts. 

 

He that will not reflect is a ruined man.
Asian Proverb

 

The only journey is the journey within.
Rainer Maria Rilke

 

Know thyself means this, that you get acquainted with what you know, and what you can do.
Menander

 

Every day do something that will inch you closer to a better tomorrow.
Doug Firebaugh


Bookmark and Share

2 thoughts on “A Green Psychology – our inner voice

Leave a Reply

