Doggie Poo Loo?

Three months old but do not let them fool you - they are naughty!My posts so far have been setting the scene for ‘Greener Me’.  A way of explanation and background to why I started my ‘Greener Me’ blog.

 

If you are reading this today the 2nd of June 2008 – thankyou!  Thank you because you are joining me on my ‘Greener Me’ journey from the beginning.

 

This last week I have been away for work in Brisbane (Australia) and I am missing very much my husband and our two small fluffy puppies ‘Mini’ and ‘Cooper’ (aka the babies).

 

Before we brought home our puppies, my husband and I discussed ideas on training and the environmental issues with dog ownership. Ironically both topics revolved around doggie poo!

 

For the first two days after bringing our puppy’s home, we were stressed out new parents. To make life easier, we flushed their number two’s down the loo.  Our thinking was their dog poo could be treated along with human waste at treatment plants before being released into the water system.

 

This was never going to be a long term solution as it is just gross. So for the next four weeks with a small, hand garden spade we scooped up and buried their number two’s in our large pot plants that are position in our small garden court yard.  However we found the time it took to do this twice a day, was not the greatest time management strategy.

 

A temporary solution was to place the regular ‘doggy poo scope ups’ in a bucket, then once a week bury them.  I do know that dog waste contains large amounts of bacteria such as Escherichia Coli (E.Coli) and Salmonella which are washed into waterways and oceans, causing contamination and potential human infections. Also Parasites such as Hookworm and Roundworm can live for years in soil where dog poo has been left to degrade, leading to further animal or human infection.

 

Burring the waste may be better than leaving it on the grass to decompose but I am not sure how much better it is.  Does anyone have thoughts on this?

 

What I think we will have to do is start a small worm farm for our doggie poo.  We actually already have a worm farm for our house hold waste (food scrapes etc).  However I didn’t think it was a good idea to be putting doggie fertiliser waste on our plants that produce food we will consume (e.g. our lemon tree).  Not sure on the facts but knowing that parasites can live for years in soil, it probably is a no brainier.

 

One tip I have just learnt is not to put dog poo in the worm farm straight after the dogs have been wormed.  The worming medication will kill the worms.

 

So here we are at the decision to purchase a 2nd worm farm.  I welcome any ideas, thoughts or facts before I go out and do this.

 

Sarhn

 

Thank you to this article for which I gained my knowledge.

Bookmark and Share

7 thoughts on “Doggie Poo Loo?

  1. Hi Hilde,

    Thanks for popping by and leaving your thoughts!

    Interesting that many people have made comments on the worm farms (left on this blog and emailed to me personally).

    Think I need to add more about this in my next post.

    Keep in touch and let us know how your worm farm goes.

    Sarhn

    Like

  2. I am most impressed Sarhn.

    I only found out about such things as worm farms about two weeks ago and I thought they sounded marvelous so I bought one. I do remember the woman who instructed me on how to start one up told me that animal excrement can be added to a worm farm but it must be allowed to rot for at least a month before putting it into the farm. At that age I’d expect it to be pretty dry and crusty!

    As for the worming chemicals that may still be in it – I suppose you could try out a small farm in a couple of yogurt pots and see what happens to them? All in the advancement of knowledge, eh?

    Like

  3. Hi Andrew,

    Thank you for your comments and for discussing this with me further privately.

    My thinking was that the worming medication given to dogs would only affect their poo for a couple of days (hence why I thought it would be fine to add their poo to worm farms after this time).

    Andrew’s thinking is that dog’s worming medication is designed to kill more hardy worms than the garden variety. Also the medication is designed to stay in the dog’s system for some time and as I am worming our dogs every month it may be too risky.

    Sounds like my little garden worms are more sensitive than I originally thought.

    So I am back to picking up the dog poo with my little hand shovels and storing in our garden bucket. Then once a week burying the waste in our small garden courtyard.

    For our own mental health I think at least a need to buy a bucket with a lid (poowee… it stinks after a couple of days).

    Andrew suggested a ‘Bokashi’ bucket. I did a google search and it looks interesting…..stay tuned on this one as I think I might come back later with a more detailed post. http://www.bokashi.com.au/

    Andrew you’re a legend!
    Sarhn

    P.S. In checking out bokashi buckets I came across this site. Apparently San Francisco has become the first city in America to consider turning Fido’s droppings into methane, which can heat homes, cook meals and generate electricity. That’s ‘poop power for you!’

    Got to check this out: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?file=/c/a/2006/02/21/MNGUIHBUPP1.DTL

    Like

  4. Stopppppppp! Don’t put the doggie do in the worm farm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you worm your dogs as you are supposed to the drugs you use will wipe out your worm farm. They are excreted in the poo and are well know for it. Our worm farm was once wiped out by a pest control man doing termite/ spider stuff. I guess it was over spray or careless use or something. Need to treat them like the precious little things they are…. worms that is, not pest men.

    Like

Leave a Reply

