A Sneaking Suspicion

On the 25th of October 2006, I emailed all my friends, family, colleagues and associates an email titled ‘A Sneaking Suspicion’.

 

Their response was the real birth of my ‘Greener Me’ blog.  Perhaps even the ‘second birth’. Many people could relate to the wide eyed, idealist, optimistic teenager I once was.  Who didn’t necessary loose her concern for the environment but none the less over time with study, career and family commitments her ‘green’ flame was perhaps ignored.

 

A balance needed to be found and old flames needed to be awoken and hence ‘A Sneaking Suspicion’ was written. Though it has taken me 18 months to start this blog, I am proud to announce that my ‘second birth green journey’ started the moment the email was sent.   

 

My intention is not to judge or preach a green agenda in this blog but simply be open, honest and accountable on my own personal quest to be greener. So here I go, recording my thoughts and actions from the 25.10.06 onwards. 

 

I would really appreciate your encouragement, assistance and any advice on my journey…….hey perhaps you could join me……let’s journey together!

 

‘A Sneaking Suspicion’ Email – written 25.10.08

 

“Hi Guys,

I have a sneaking suspicion that there are many more people like me…….People that do find themselves regularly thinking about environment issues……People that don’t just think about the issues but ‘feel’ them too.  If you are like me then you also don’t know what you can do.

 

For the last couple of years I have tried to do the best by treading lightly on this earth i.e. not wanting my stay here on earth to impact the environment.  By recycling as much as I can and trying not to bye things that can’t be recycled etc.

To be honest, this nagging gut voice inside me doesn’t go away. 

 

I wonder if I should be doing more.

 

I don’t know what to do.

 

Two months ago after talking to Brett, I decided to spend time researching and learning more about the issues.  The idea was simple, with education I hope to work out more of what I could do.

 

I am tired of saying to myself “Sarhn, wait till this busy period is over and then start your environmental education”.  Too many years have passed and the busy period never ended but environmental issues still remain.

 

Can I challenge my friends who also have this nagging voice inside them to also start today on the researching environmental issues?  Join me in my quest to start doing something.

 

Research = Education, Education = Knowledge, Knowledge = Action, Actions = A way towards a better earth.

 

Warmly

Sarhn”


Bookmark and Share

2 thoughts on “A Sneaking Suspicion

  1. Pingback: Response – Alex | Greener Me

  2. Pingback: Almost Seven Years of Blogging – time for a fresh look | Greener Me

Leave a Reply

